Galleria Alfonso Artiaco

Alfonso Artiaco opens his gallery in Pozzuoli, in Corso Nicola Terracciano, in 1986 at the age of twenty-two. The first exhibition, Possibilità di collezione, presented works by, among others, Alighiero Boetti, Joseph Beuys, Luciano Fabro, Luigi Ontani, Giulio Paolini, Mario Schifano and Andy Warhol.
In the following years the gallery developed a program focused mainly on Arte Povera, Conceptual and Minimal Art showing solo exhibitions by artists such as Giovanni Anselmo, Richard Artschwager, Alan Charlton, Wolfgang Laib, Giuseppe Penone, Niele Toroni and Lawrence Weiner.
In 1995 the gallery moved temporarily to Via Mameli, opening with the exhibition of Carl Andre and Sol LeWitt. In 1997 the gallery returned to his original location with the first solo show of Jannis Kounellis. In 2003 Alfonso Artiaco decided to move to Naples, first to Piazza dei Martiri, where he remained until 2012, and then in November of that year he opened the exhibition of Liam Gillick and Sol LeWitt in the current space of Piazzetta Nilo, at the noble floor of Palazzo Principe Raimondo De Sangro.
Over the years the gallery continues its artistic research with a special focus on the international scene, exhibiting artists such as Darren Almond, Robert Barry, Michel François, Gilbert & George, Thomas Hirschhorn, Ann Veronica Janssens, Albert Oehlen, Giulio Paolini, Perino & Vele, Edi Rama, Anri Sala, Tursic & Mille and Juan Uslè.
In 2016 Alfonso Artiaco celebrated 30 years of activity with a large exhibition at the gallery featuring 40 artists who have presented works selected or created for the occasion.
In addition to supporting its historical artists, the gallery constantly enriches its program with new collaborations. The most recent include the Swiss artist Not Vital, the young Neapolitan artists Diego Cibelli and Veronica Bisesti, the German painters Andreas Breunig and Jana Schroeder, the American minimalist artist Michael Venezia and the Scottish Callum Innes.

Darren Almond

Maria Thereza Alves

Carl Andre

Giovanni Anselmo

Robert Barry

Veronica Bisesti

Botto & Bruno

Andreas Breunig

Diego Cibelli

Alan Charlton

Victoria Civera

Michel François

Gilbert & George

Liam Gillick

Gioberto Noro

Thomas Hirschhorn

Callum Innes

Ann Veronica Janssens

Jannis Kounellis

Melissa Kretschmer

Wolfgang Laib

Sol LeWitt

Vera Lutter

Rita McBride

Giulio Paolini

Perino & Vele

Edi Rama

Glen Rubsamen

Anri Sala

Jana Schröder

Andres Serrano

Niele Toroni

David Tremlett

Tursic & Mille

Juan Uslé

Michael Venezia 

Not Vital

Lawrence Weiner